Body General body information and techniques for restoration, repairs, and modifications.

Help about buying a GTA in Italy [**PHOTOS** added]

Search this Thread

Old 10-20-2014, 06:55 PM
NiG

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Car: 1989 Gray ttop GTA
Engine: 5700cc
Transmission: auto 700R4
Help about buying a GTA in Italy [**PHOTOS** added]

Hi all!

(I don't know if this is the best place to write. In case not, the moderator would gently move this topic )

I'm an italian dude who is finally about to buy a 1989 Trans-Am GTA (already in Italy). I've been dreaming this moment for almost ten years, but now I'm full of doubts and I would like to ask you to kindly help me in clarifying some of those.

*** THE CAR ***

1989 GTA 5700cc, automatic, you can see the selling page here:
http://goo.gl/9W6Cfw

When I went to see the car, I made two additional pictures:
http://s29.postimg.org/45982xno7/IMG...014_135829.jpg
http://s29.postimg.org/9fe6u87x3/IMG...014_135854.jpg

Actual price is 9000€ (euros).

as you can see, it looks good. Owner told me that the car is in great conditions and has been driving it for over four years without ANY problem. Actually, I drove it and it runs good.

*** MY DOUBTS ***

1) the car itself
Is that car a reliable, strong car? It is going to break easily or is it going to last?
Is is a secure, confortable and good car to drive, compared to modern cars?

2) price
Is 9000€ a good price for that car? Will I be able to re-sell it in Italy (or Europe) in 3-4 years with the same price? Owner told me that actually that car is rated about 11000-12000€.

3) replacement parts!!!!
Is it sure I'll be able to find any replacement part if something would break? My biggest concerns are about the transmission (4-automatic) and engine.
If so, what is the best place to buy the parts? I live in Italy.

4) transmission robustness
Does the GTA have a robust transmission?
Can I strongly accelerate without being worried about some mechanical crack?