Brakes Looking to upgrade or get the most out of what you have stock? All brake discussions go here!

My spin on a Line Lock install. Pictures and Part Numbers.

Search this Thread

Old 03-01-2015, 02:00 PM

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Car: '89 Camaro
Engine: LS1
Transmission: 4L65/70E
Axle/Gears: 9 Inch, 3.70 gears
My spin on a Line Lock install. Pictures and Part Numbers.

I know this has been covered before, but while I was researching this install I'd have to piece together information from a bunch of different threads. I'm not a complete bonehead, but I'm not a rocket scientist either, but I had a few questions after reading the threads that I found on here doing a search for "line lock" or "roll control". My idea was to compile a bunch of the stuff I read about on here, plus my experience this weekend with the install, and put it on here. Hopefully this helps someone out.

First, I mounted the line lock solenoid and wired it up. Sticking with the sleeper theme, I didn't want a switch and indicator light that stuck out, I wanted something that blended right in with the interior. Since my car only gets driven in nice weather now, I pulled out the defroster switch, cut the wire for that and used that to power the solenoid. It's an ignition hot circuit, so that switch is dead when the car isn't running and the line lock only pulls 3 amps. In addition, it has a timer, so the line lock won't be forgotten about in the on position (originally this was designed so that you wouldn't forget to turn off the defroster, since it pulls a lot of power and creates not an insignificant amount of heat on the glass) I also ran the wire through the C100 bulkhead connector and through the headlight harness, so that it would be as hidden as possible for a nice clean install.

Name:  IMG_20150203_172114901_HDR.jpg
Views: 2422
Size:  61.9 KB