Car Audio Car audio related questions and helpful hints for building the best sound system for your car or getting the most out of what you have.

How can I normalize aftermarket sound systems to differences in audio production?

Search this Thread

Old 01-18-2015, 09:49 PM

Received 6 Likes on 6 Posts
Car: '87 IROC-Z
Engine: TPI 5.7
Transmission: T-56
How can I normalize aftermarket sound systems to differences in audio production?

I am a part-time musician who has been around audio production and has recorded some music in the past. I'm far from an engineer, but can really hear the difference between different recording techniques used over the years, by different engineers, in different genres, with various equipment, etc. And with today's digital files, who knows what you're going to get unless it's spelled out? I mean, now we're downloading and converting songs from Youtube for crissakes! I listen to a lot of obscure music and Youtube is the best source for that these days.

Anyway, when I listen to music on stock modern systems these days the differences in production and digitization are muted or "normalized" much more than when I listen to it on aftermarket systems. I actually don't run into volume difference problems, (despite alternating from songs made with today's "brickwalled" compression to more dynamic stuff from the '70s) but instead having the production, ripping, uploading and bitrate differences shoved in my face. Are there basic EQ settings (low, mid, high, sub volume, fade, "Loudness" and balance are all I have to work with) I can change?
Old 01-19-2015, 06:11 AM
TGO Supporter

Received 13 Likes on 12 Posts
Car: 91 Black Formula KR
Engine: 305 TPI R69/G92
Transmission: Astro A5-Pro 5.0-McCleod
Axle/Gears: US Gear 3.42 Eaton True Trac
Re: How can I normalize aftermarket sound systems to differences in audio production?

I think you might want to setup a few presets... cuz if you're trying to make each song "ideal", you'll be busy a lot...