DIY PROM Do It Yourself PROM chip burning help. No PROM begging. No PROMs for sale. No commercial exchange. Not a referral service.

EBL WUD for Android

Search this Thread

Old 03-10-2012, 09:59 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
EBL WUD for Android

I'm just getting started with my EBL flash, but I'm so impressed with this already compared to the factory 7747 I was working with before. Once I get this thing close to dialed in, it would be so cool to be able to monitor things or do some datalogging with a tablet or smartphone instead of dragging the laptop out to the car.

A cool bonus to logging on an Android would be the easy ability to log GPS position/velocity and data from the accelerometers.

BobR, have you given any thought to something like this? I know it's a lot easier to talk about stuff like this than to actually make it real. I was told that the newer android versions can interface to the USB port in a more standard way. That might make it quite a bit easier than having to deal with Bluetooth or something, although Bluetooth would be quite cool.

I know there are Bluetooth based apps for android that read the OBDII data...
Old 03-10-2012, 12:26 PM

Re: EBL WUD for Android

Well, you are correct in that the newer phones have USB host mode enabled. The problem is to what degree still varies by vendor. In addition to having the right pins hooked up, there needs to be the proper drivers installed.

Then there is the issue of porting the app. The whole UI would have to change, There is an NDK for android so maybe the communications routines can stay, but it'll substantially have to be done in Java or Qt.
Old 03-11-2012, 10:39 AM

Received 215 Likes on 201 Posts
Car: check
Engine: check
Transmission: check

This has been considered and looked at to see what would need to be done. As Scorp posted, it is a major effort with the entire WUD needing to be re-written in Java. Can leave it in C/C++, but then it becomes hardware platform dependent.

RBob.