Electronics Need help wiring something up? Thinking of adding an electrical component to your car? Need help troubleshooting that wiring glitch?

AC causing temp gauge surge? Overheating?

Old 05-24-2016, 06:37 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
AC causing temp gauge surge? Overheating?

Every time I turn on my ac on anything other than economy the temp gauge hits max and appears to be overheating. It's not gradual it's damned near instant. I was wondering if it's a grounding issue or if something else is going on. I don't see why the ac wiring would effect the temp gauge, but I'm rather new to this. I have searched the forums for this particular issue and have come up with no solution.
Old 05-24-2016, 06:38 PM

Re: AC causing temp gauge surge? Overheating?

Any help appreciated. Thanks in advance.
Old 05-24-2016, 08:45 PM

Link is bad. Lmao
Old 05-24-2016, 09:33 PM
Supreme Member

Received 1,662 Likes on 1,261 Posts
Car: Yes
Engine: Usually
Transmission: Sometimes
Axle/Gears: Behind me somewhere

Yeah that worthless POS spammer hit every forum on this site, posting his tennis shoes or handbags or **** or whatever trash it is in the top post on every one...

Sounds to me like you have wires crossed somewhere. Temp gauge sending unit and AC compressor wires are both dark green; and if you have the driver's side compressor, they come within inches of each other.

Disconnect them both from wherever they go and see if it still does it.
Old 05-25-2016, 08:37 AM

I'm pretty sure my compressor is on the passenger side
Old 05-25-2016, 08:46 AM

I checked the wires. Ones going to fan one is going to the battery directly. The PO did a hack job wiring everything
Old 05-25-2016, 12:05 PM
Supreme Member

Sounds like the reason you have electrical problems, is because the PO hacked it up.

Anything could be hooked to (or unhooked from) anything anywhere. No way for anybody that isn't looking at it, to guess what's been sodomized.