Engine Swap Everything about swapping an engine into your Third Gen.....be it V6, V8, LTX/LSX, crate engine, etc. Pictures, questions, answers, and work logs.

build a 350 or buy a turn key 350? HELP!

Search this Thread

Old 09-02-2009, 04:16 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
build a 350 or buy a turn key 350? HELP!

hi well iv been wanting to get a new engine for my 87 iroc and well first i was going go with a base zz383 then build that but that will be just to expensive and then i decided to get a base 350/290hp engine from gmpp but i was going add performance parts just like 2k extra worth in components but now im thinking i might not be able to do this.reason why is because im only 12 and i have had NO mechanical experience with cars only apperance lol.

but if i was going buy a turn key i was just going go with the ram jet 350 from gmpp or should i go with a stealth ram engine? i would rather build the engine so i can get more power because i would just add better components but im just not rlly sure if i can. of course i was going buy a couple of the step by step books on building but im afraid i'll get to confused and be stuck. ethier way i go i was going have a shop take out the old 305tpi and drop in the engine and do all the tuning and wiring and all.

i figure the turn key engine would be more expensive but how much of a diffrence would there be if i say built the 350/290 engine but add the components they did on this artical http://www.gmperformanceparts.com/_r..._CrateThis.pdf
along with a full holley stealth ram system. along with everything to get the engine running properly. and how much more would it be to get a ram jet 350 along with everything else to get it running. so what do you think? thanks everyone