Engine Swap Everything about swapping an engine into your Third Gen.....be it V6, V8, LTX/LSX, crate engine, etc. Pictures, questions, answers, and work logs.

Vortec head modifications

Old 04-18-2013, 06:11 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Car: 1990 RS Camaro
Engine: 305 c.i. v8 tbi all stock
Transmission: 700r4 bone stock
Axle/Gears: 2.73
Vortec head modifications

Hey guys I got a 90 camaro that im building up an engine for. The bottom end is your standard 350 bored .030 over, a stroker isnt in the budget . As far as the top end is concerned i have a set of 062 vortecs that im going to use. what im asking is what are the most common modifications to this cylinder head? what will give me the best performance? and i do plan on running a bit of a radical cam so what would need to be done as far as allowing for more valve lift and duration? I've never used these heads before but i hear good things. id like to hear from some of you engine builders out there and thanks in advance any advice is greatly appreciated!!
Old 04-18-2013, 06:43 AM
Supreme Member

Received 18 Likes on 16 Posts
Car: 88 IROC
Engine: 97 5.7 Vortec LT4 hotcam
Transmission: 700 r4
Axle/Gears: 3.73
Re: Vortec head modifications

the beauty of vortec heads is that they are a good stock head for cheap. Depending on how much you want to do it though, the money adds up and before long you could have spent a little more and had a set of aftermarket heads that work better and have much more capability.

Budget wise: basic machine shop stuff (check for cracks, valve job). As far as more lift, you can have the shop machine the guides down (matched with proper springs) or you could go with a simple kit (alex spring kit). Depending on the size of the cam. Also may consider screw in studs, again depending on cam size.

Anything more and you will start pushing the budget portion and you should research other options.

Also dont forget that vortec heads require a different intake.
Old 04-18-2013, 08:54 AM