Fabrication Custom fabrication ideas and concepts ranging from body kits, interior work, driveline tech, and much more.

Home brew road racer

Search this Thread

Old 12-17-2011, 06:10 PM

Received 32 Likes on 25 Posts
Home brew road racer

This thread is to chronicle the transformation of a very tired 83 Z28 into a very capable track day road racer with acceptable street manners. Even though most of this thread is about suspension modifications almost everything has been designed and fabricated by myself using little more than standard hand and power tools found in most home work shops. I hope you'll follow along and offer tips and advice as I'll be the first to admit that I am not an expert at any of this.

The car is an 83 Z that I bought after it had been wrecked. It was hit hard on the left side from the front wheel forward to the point that the frame horns ahead of the k-member were pushed to the right enough to put a small crease in the right front fender. A local body shop pulled the frame back square and the only parts I gad to replace were the left front fender, spindle and strut. I drove the car for a couple hundred miles but it smoked like a stove. A compression check revealed all the cylinders were less than 120 psi and a few were in the low 80s.

I have always wanted to build a track day car and think the third gen Camaros are one of the best looking cars GM ever made. They do however have some designed-in shortcomings that require correcting if any type of serious performance use is considered. The engine/ drivetrain in these cars is wimpy at best. The poor structural rigidity of the unibody is notorious and the front and rear suspensions are limited in their adjustablity and weight transfer.