Organized Drag Racing and Autocross Drag racing and autocross discussions and questions. Techniques, tips, suggestions, and "what will I run?" questions.

Street/strip advice

Search this Thread

Old 04-29-2016, 09:16 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Street/strip advice

Hi everyone. I am new to drag racing but not new to building. Looking for some advice on where i need to go from here to be as competitive as possible in my class, but still be able to drive on the street as this car is my daily driver. I have a 84 z28 with a mild build 355, comp 12-212-2 cam (.480 lift, 280 adv dur), flat top pistons, 062 vortec heads (stock with light port job), edelbrock performer intake, edelbrock 750 carb vacuum secondaries, electric water pump and fan, stock t5 trans, stock suspension (replaced all the bushings with polyurethane), shorty headers, 2.5" duals with h pipe and short glasspacks, stock rear gear (3.23), and 235 tires.
Im planning to replace the rear gear or the whole rear end but not sure if 3.50 or 3.73 would be the best option? Currently trying to find a set of iroc wheels so i can step up to a 255 tire, will this be enough or should i try and find some wider rears for the race tires? Looking at the summit stage 3 intake (airgap knockoff), any experience with it? Any other recommendations?
The series im trying to run requires mufflers, allows one power adder (turbo, nitro, blower), requires hard street tires and requires stock suspension in stock location.
This is my first time posting but i have been following this forum for a while so i know theres some awesome knowledge here. Any advice is very much appreciated! Thanks.
Old 04-29-2016, 11:05 AM
Supreme Member

Received 629 Likes on 530 Posts
Re: Street/strip advice

When I first started racing my 86 IROC (RIP) I found the single biggest issue was traction. My combination wasn't too far removed from yours in terms of what the engine was. I ran a 700R4 rather than a T5 (which will be a point of discussion later).