Suspension and Chassis Questions about your suspension? Need chassis advice?

Need suspension 1.0.1 For 84 Iron Duke

Search this Thread

Old 01-06-2016, 06:50 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Car: 1984 camaro
Engine: 2.5L 4 cylinder (151 Iron Duke)
Transmission: 4 speed Saginaw
Axle/Gears: 3.43
Need suspension 1.0.1 For 84 Iron Duke

I have an 84 iron duke that i'm restoring to a daily driver but i'd like to upgrade the suspension to match standards for a larger engine and higher speeds (There are many dirt roads in my area so multi applicable suggestions are appreciated). This is the first time I've dabble in suspension so I wanted to ask for an order of operations for front and rear suspension as well as suggestions for brand, addons (SFC, Wonder Bar etc,) and what order I should do this in so I don't have to go back over myself. Just a simple list will do. From there I can self educate. Sorry i'm still a noob

a format like the following would be awsome

order: Part : Brand
Old 01-06-2016, 09:14 PM

Received 120 Likes on 101 Posts
Car: 87 IROC L98
Engine: 588 Alcohol BBC
Transmission: Powerglide
Axle/Gears: Ford 9"/31 spline spool/4.86
Re: Need suspension 1.0.1 For 84 Iron Duke

Budget? It's easy to make suggestions but it can also go way over what someone is willing to pay. Estimated full suspension upgrade will probably be around $2000.

Replace whatever is broken, damaged or worn.
If going to a V8, you'll need some heavier front springs to carry the weight.
Old 01-07-2016, 08:11 AM
Supreme Member

Received 18 Likes on 16 Posts
Car: 88 IROC
Engine: 97 5.7 Vortec LT4 hotcam
Transmission: 700 r4
Axle/Gears: 3.73

Alky is right.

But at the low end of the deal, Id replace:

Front:
Ball Joints, A-Arm Bushings, Tie Rod Ends, Drag Link, Center Link, and Strut Mounts. Moog For all.
At same time, put on a set of KYB Excel-G struts. Then get the front end aligned to specs from this site, not the factory settings.

Sway bar bushings and end links: Energy Suspension