TBI Throttle Body Injection discussion and questions. L03/CFI tech and other performance enhancements.

My adventures with Holley Pro-jection

Old 03-14-2012, 09:56 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Car: 84 Z28
Engine: 91 L98 long block with Pro-jection
Transmission: T5
Axle/Gears: 91 10bolt w/ 3.42s and T2R
My adventures with Holley Pro-jection

After a few searches, some successful, I figured I document my work with a Holley Pro-jection system here. Please feel free to add thoughts, as questions, or contribute as you see fit. I certainly don't have the answers at this point, but I'm starting to figure out the right questions.

I'm going to list all my info, relevant or not, but I'll try to keep the thread itself to the TBI tuning specifically. The purpose of this car is multi-faceted. First and foremost, it is a "daily" driver. I have a truck, and another economy car (currently awaiting a reconstructed title though). Second, I am a track-day instructor, so this should be a decent car to have a good time and take students out in. Finally, as an ancilliary concern, I may run the car at time trial events as well. I formerly built a 90 Formula 350 for this same purpose, but never go to swapping in the T5, and eventually so the car (to the guy that built this one).

Stats on the car:

Chassis:
84 Camaro Z28 (formerly a L69 5sp car) hardtop
Stock struts (to be replaced with Koni Yellows that I have)
Stock springs cut one coil (soon to be replaced with ???)
Swaybars are 36H/22
Aftermarket rear LCAs
1LE brakes
Chassis reinforcement, a bar (or cage), and other stuff to come
16" GTA wheels (fronts on rear, rears on front with spacers, and yes, I have long ARP studs).

Drivetrain:
T-5 from the 84 car
aluminum flywheel
steel driveshaft
91 rear with 3.42s and a Torsen T2R

Engine specific (the important stuff):
L98 long block from a 91 Z- stock
Edelbrock Performer (I think) 4bbl intake
Holley Projection (2D I believe) 2bbl with closed loop