Tech / General Engine Is your car making a strange sound or won't start? Thinking of adding power with a new combination? Need other technical information or engine specific advice? Don't see another board for your problem? Post it here!

Options for welding aluminum?

Search this Thread

Old 07-20-2002, 07:02 AM
Supreme Member

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Car: 1997 Jeep Wrangler
Engine: 4.0L
Transmission: 5 speed
Axle/Gears: 8.8 rear, 4.56 gears, 4:1 transfer
Options for welding aluminum?

Can someone list the equipment I would need to weld aluminum in order of cheapest to most expensive.

I am a pretty good MIG welder but my unit is a flux core one and cannot use aluminum wire.
Old 07-20-2002, 09:36 AM

Received 120 Likes on 101 Posts
Car: 87 IROC L98
Engine: 588 Alcohol BBC
Transmission: Powerglide
Axle/Gears: Ford 9"/31 spline spool/4.86
Mig welder. Aluminum MIG wire, Argon gas.

You can get aluminum rod for stick welding but the welds are really ugly.
Old 07-20-2002, 10:09 AM
ede
TGO Supporter

guess a lot would depend on what equipment you have now and how much talent you have for it. if you have a stick machine all you need is rods, sort of hard to find and use but it's an option. if you have a mig machine all you need is wire and argon. if you have a tig machine all you need is filler metal. if you have an ac or ac/dc stick machine you'd need a high freq unit and a tig torch. if you have a welding/cutting torch all you'd need is filler metal. basically aluminum or any other metal can be welded by any number of welding processes. what exactly are you wanting to know or to do?
Old 07-20-2002, 12:16 PM
Supreme Member

I have a cheap Century 110VAC MIG welder. It only takes flux core wire. It don't have an option for Argon (or any) gas.

There always a time where having the capibilty of welding aluminum would come in handy.

Can one machine weld cast and plate aluminum?