Tech / General Engine Is your car making a strange sound or won't start? Thinking of adding power with a new combination? Need other technical information or engine specific advice? Don't see another board for your problem? Post it here!

383 Build

Search this Thread

Old 06-22-2007, 09:31 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Car: 1986 z28
Engine: 305 LG4
Transmission: auto
Axle/Gears: entirely stock
383 Build

The 305 LG4 in my car (1986 Z28) is totally shot. I bought it with the intention of putting a new engine in it eventually, I just wanted to drive it through the winter like it was so I would have time to build a good 400 small block. That isn't going to happen, and you can thank people who don't change their oil...ever. If the previous owners had, this engine would have many more miles left on it. Oil changes are good.

Anyway, this is my first time building a SBC since I am a ford guy, so I would like some input on my part selections.
  • 1972 350 block 2 bolt main - local (getting ready to buy)
  • Trick flow heads assembled - summit?
  • Chevy 383 Stroker Engine Kit - northernautoparts
  • Crane cam 100132 - comes with stroker kit
  • Complete ARP stud/bolt kit
  • Headers
  • Professional Products 8" SFI approved 400 external balancer