Tech / General Engine Is your car making a strange sound or won't start? Thinking of adding power with a new combination? Need other technical information or engine specific advice? Don't see another board for your problem? Post it here!

Rate my purchase and helpful advice? LONG READ

Old 07-03-2010, 01:53 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Car: 1984 Trans Am
Rate my purchase and helpful advice? LONG READ

Hey guys, new here...

I'm still learning about cars and engine work in general so please bear with me...

Pretty much grew up around Firebirds with my dad getting a new one every 2 - 3 years or so, loved them all.. so naturally, that's what I wanted as my first car.. No ifs ands or buts, despite people telling me to stay away from 8 cylinders on a first car I couldn't stand the thought of having a V6 FB ... The sound of a V8 spoiled me throughout the years so I had to have it...

Ahem sorry about the story (kind of an introduction considering this is my first post )

So about 2 months ago, I found an 84 Trans Am on CL for $1400 with 99k miles... I took my dad and we went to check it out, he told me flat out if it had T-Tops he'd have bought it for himself right then and there ..AKA the car was in good shape (not perfect but i'll get to that) Dark Sand Grey (BEAUTIFUL color) but is in need of a paintjob due to rust that formed on the roof but was sanded and primered by the PO No power anything (was a + for me) and cruise control

We test drove it for a while, had a clunk on the passenger side but nothing too major...Handling was really loose compared to anything else i've driven but I grew to love it... We all agreed it was an awesome ride as a first car, shelled over the money and took the car home...