Tech / General Engine Is your car making a strange sound or won't start? Thinking of adding power with a new combination? Need other technical information or engine specific advice? Don't see another board for your problem? Post it here!

305tbi falling flat on it's face at WOT, help

Search this Thread

Old 07-18-2010, 09:16 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Car: 91 GMC 1500 pickup, reg. cab shorty
Engine: 350 5.7 TBI
Transmission: 5 speed manual, HLM60
Axle/Gears: 10 bolt, 3.42 G80 posi. all factory
305tbi falling flat on it's face at WOT, help

Well guys my dad and I have been fighting this truck of ours for the last 4-5 months and just can't figure it out, at 3/4 pedal up to WOT the truck falls FLAT on it's face, like dangerously, like to the point where it actually goes SLOWER at WOT then it does at 1/2 throttle or something. It used to pop out the TB when we first got it but that was when it had a bad injector......The truck absolutely runs 100% smooth at idle and up to a little before 3/4 pedal when you're driving it, then falls flat on it's face and dogs.....

oh and if it's in park or Neutral and you rev it up, it sounds great and doesn't stumble or anything, has great throttle response right up to 4500 rpm redline. The truck is a joy to drive around like accelerating normally becuase it has nice throttle response and the new trans shifts nicely and shifts kinda high in the RPM's which gets the truck moving.

Get read for the huge list of everything that is either brand new or has been swapped out with known good stuff off other trucks we have around....This was all done within the last few months and the truck sees no road time, it's a project that is done besides the fact that it runs $hitty.

The truck is a 94 K-1500 4x4 pickup, 305 tbi, 4L60E, 3.73 gears, 31" tires.

New-
-Spark Plugs- ACdelco
-Distributor Cap- ACdelco
-Rotor- ACdelco
-Spark plug wires- ACdelco
-Ignition module- Removed from a strong running 350 truck (mine)
-Coolant Temp. Sensor