Tech / General Engine Is your car making a strange sound or won't start? Thinking of adding power with a new combination? Need other technical information or engine specific advice? Don't see another board for your problem? Post it here!

How much/is it worth it, to restore a 87 TA?

Old 10-04-2011, 12:03 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
How much/is it worth it, to restore a 87 TA?

Hello, I am here to ask for some serious advice- I have the oppurtunity to get a 87 trans am ok body ok interior, clutch went out, and bad knock in the engine. For 250$. I do not plan on making it perfect condition, but replacing the engine, clutch, and maybe seat covers. Not a full redo or anything

I'm not a mechanic nor am i related closely to one, so what is your opinion on wether I should buy it, and replace the clutch myself (that I can do) and maybe ask a friend for help on putting in a new engine (that i have never done before)
A clutch i believe is around 200-300 for this car, engine i looked aorund craigslist and saw some z28 305 for 300-500 good condition.

Am I just totally underestimating this project or should I seriously consider this?

I am a junior in highschool if that makes a difference lol. The work will be done in summer break and senior (relaxing) year, as 2 AP courses ATM is just horrid.

And thank you so much for your advice, i would most graciously appreciate any opinions of those more experienced, even if all you do is shoot down my ideas LOL

I also have access to a forklift at my fathers shop (stone) 30miles away

Last edited by 7keys7seas; 10-04-2011 at 12:16 AM.
Old 10-04-2011, 12:22 AM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Car: 89 GTA
Engine: 5.7 TPI L98
Transmission: 700R4 w/ Stage 2 shift kit & stall
Re: How much/is it worth it, to restore a 87 TA?