Tech / General Engine Is your car making a strange sound or won't start? Thinking of adding power with a new combination? Need other technical information or engine specific advice? Don't see another board for your problem? Post it here!

You'll cringe when you read this...

Search this Thread

Old 09-11-2012, 03:52 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Car: 89 Formula 350 Original Owner
Engine: 5.7
Transmission: 700R4
Axle/Gears: 3.27
You'll cringe when you read this...

I bought a brand new 1989 Formula 350 (black with t-tops) when I graduated high school. I got married 20 years ago (tomorrow). I drove the car to our honeymoon and on the way back it overheated. A new thermostat took care of the problem or so I thought. A few weeks later I began noticing it was using antifreeze. I think it may have blew a head gasket or intake gasket and it got worse. Antifreeze pretty much would go straight threw the exhaust. Me being without funds to repair it (and not having the heart to get rid of it)... covered and parked it in my dads garage with 30,000 miles on the odometer. I used to start it a couple times a year but the last 5 its just been setting. Raising three kids and all the ball games, school functions, vacations, etc., etc. has kept me busy over the years but now the kids are graduating from high school way to fast and don't really have as much time to spend with dear old dad as they used to.

I was looking at the car the other night and thinking back 20 years ago to all the good times I had in the that car during the 30,000 miles of its life. Its still in great condition other than a few boxes that were stacked up to high and fell on it (thanks mom). lol I'll never sell the car because I thought the car looked cool as h3ll when I go it and still think so today.

Don't bash on me too much for parking it. I did what I needed to do at that time in my life... I am happy I have been able to keep it over the years... even if it is broke and setting in a building. lol