Tech / General Engine Is your car making a strange sound or won't start? Thinking of adding power with a new combination? Need other technical information or engine specific advice? Don't see another board for your problem? Post it here!
View Poll Results: Are Thirdgens Worth What people are Asking(Then and Now)?
Yes, Most owners are in line with average price
17.54%
Sometimes owners are asking too much
45.61%
Most owners are asking too much
36.84%
Voters: 57. You may not vote on this poll

Honestly... Are Thirdgens worth THAT MUCH?

Search this Thread

Old 07-18-2015, 09:02 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Honestly... Are Thirdgens worth THAT MUCH?

I have been a thirdgen owner for 20+ years and the BIGGEST complaint that I have is thirdgen owners always think their car is worth WAY more than the average selling prices. After owning many of these cars over the years, I graduated to buying my first TTA in 2000. Having Many of those (6) I have still adored the sleek look of a Z28 and Trans am, but I find TTA's are more in line with the market than ALL the other thirdgens out there...Well almost all..

I feel alone in the thirdgen world because I know most of these cars are not being sold for TTA prices and the cheaper cars that I used to enjoy are nearing a higher mileage TTA. Were talking a few grand difference when the cars are night and day in performance and collectability.

But you dont have to own a TTA to see this. I seen it back in the day(mid 90's) too. A quick search on Craigslist leaves you wondering what these people are actually thinking? I just shake my head and laugh. Most other cars have been in line on price that I researched from years ago to now. My dad is a hot rodder and had many cars over the years and I only find this frustrating price battle with thirdgen owners.

Anyway,am I right about this phenomenon, or am I just alone (God I hope not).
Old 07-18-2015, 10:12 PM
Supreme Member

Received 8 Likes on 8 Posts
Car: 1989 Iroc-Z Camaro