Tech / General Engine Is your car making a strange sound or won't start? Thinking of adding power with a new combination? Need other technical information or engine specific advice? Don't see another board for your problem? Post it here!

Rocker arm falling off Valve Stem

Search this Thread

Old 07-30-2015, 08:38 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Car: 1984 15th Anniversary Trans am
Engine: 305 HO (L69)
Transmission: 700r4
Axle/Gears: 10 bolt posi with 3.73 gears
Rocker arm falling off Valve Stem

Hi guys, Newbie here but long time lurker

As the title says I am having trouble with the exhaust rocker on cylinder #3 falling off the valve stem and bending push rods.

This motor has approximately 12500mi since it was rebuilt. The car it is in was my daily driver for close to a year and it had no valve train issuses. I was driving it home one day and I heard a popping sound from the carb and what felt almost like back firing. I got it home checked the carb it looked fine. Took off the valve covers and I found cylinder #3's exhaust rocker rotated clockwise off the valve stem and the matching push rod was bent. I replaced the push rod reset the valve lash (tighten until push rod stops rotating plus 3/4 turn). I fired the car up and it had no valve tick and all the cylinders were firing as per normal. I drove it a half mile from the house and the same popping sound comes back. At home I pull the valve cover same issue bent push rod with rocker rotated off the valve stem.

I will post pictures tonight when I get home of the current state of the rod, rocker and valve stem.

I was wondering if anyone has had this happen to them before and If anyone here has any idea what would be causing this??

Engine Specs: