Tech / General Engine Is your car making a strange sound or won't start? Thinking of adding power with a new combination? Need other technical information or engine specific advice? Don't see another board for your problem? Post it here!

Overheating on interstate fine in town.

Search this Thread

Old 09-28-2015, 05:23 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Overheating on interstate fine in town.

Hey guys i have been battling this problem for a few months, its not my daily driver so its not been too big of a deal. But i have an 86 IROC with 383, aluminum heads mild cam, accel coil pack and rotor. stock 305 distributor ( i think this might be the issue ). I was having a problem keeping timing in line the distributor holder kept moving was my best guess. but now i think something is maybe wrong in the distributor. Im actually not real sure what a faulty distributor would do but thats why im here. Hoping to get some good info.

Also i changed out the plug wires just recently and following that the vehicle started hesitating very randomly. Its strange will act perfectly fine for miles and miles then out of no where its almost like it wants to die for just a sec then resumes normal operation. No idea if the issues are linked or if it had anything to do with the new wires but thought i would throw that in there. the new wires are MSD custom, i made them and all of them OHM'd out at less that 40 ohms per foot.

Thanks in advance.
Old 09-28-2015, 05:47 PM

Received 9 Likes on 7 Posts
Car: 1986 IROC Z-28
Engine: 383 Gen I SBC 11:1
Transmission: Rebuilt TH700R4 for 500+HP
Axle/Gears: 4th Gen 10 bolt Eaton Truetrac 3.23
Re: Overheating on interstate fine in town.

Originally Posted by Fanatic1074