Tech / General Engine Is your car making a strange sound or won't start? Thinking of adding power with a new combination? Need other technical information or engine specific advice? Don't see another board for your problem? Post it here!

Fuel Pressure Issue

Search this Thread

Old 02-08-2016, 08:56 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Fuel Pressure Issue

I have a 1984 Z28 that I bought after it had been sitting up for a few years. I put on a new Edelbrock 1406 carb and new fuel tank, sending unit, and the previous owner put on a new fuel pump a month or so before I bought it. I've been driving the car for about 6 months now and I just recently started having trouble with what I believe is a fuel pressure problem. When I start the car I can drive it for a few minutes before I start to feel it kind of stall and now have any power. The choke light came on but it's a brand new carb so I don't think the choke is the issue. When I look under the hood I can see bubbles in the filter as I rev up the engine and can see the fuel level drop in the filter when doing so. Any idea what's going on? Can the charcoal canister be a factor?

Last edited by Bradley1984z28; 02-08-2016 at 08:59 PM.
Old 02-08-2016, 09:05 PM
Supreme Member

Received 1,670 Likes on 1,268 Posts
Car: Yes
Engine: Usually
Transmission: Sometimes
Axle/Gears: Behind me somewhere
Re: Fuel Pressure Issue

Choke light comes on = the alternator is not working

The light may say "Choke" but it really means "Alt"

In any event, a non-working alt will also result in the choke NEVER pulling off.

So, fix the "Alt" (mislabelled) light problem first.
Old 02-09-2016, 12:01 PM

Originally Posted by sofakingdom
Choke light comes on = the alternator is not working

The light may say "Choke" but it really means "Alt"

In any event, a non-working alt will also result in the choke NEVER pulling off.

So, fix the "Alt" (mislabelled) light problem first.