Theoretical and Street Racing Use this board to ask questions about street racing, discuss your street races, and "who would win?" questions. Keep it safe.

Raced a coyote...

Search this Thread

Old 08-14-2014, 01:05 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Raced a coyote...

Let me say first that I'm relatively new to the third gen message boards and while I've had a few quick Camaros, this is my first 3rd gen.

I have a black 85 sport coupe, full interior, 350 SBC .040 over, all forged rotating assembly, balanced & blueprinted, 11:1 compression ratio with a 294 comp solid flat tappet cam, Pro comp aluminum heads with 210cc runners, Victor Jr, Holley 750 dp, built TH350 transmission with a red neck 10" 3500 stall converter, posi with 3.73 gears. Ran 12.2s the only time I took it to the track.

So I took it out to the local cruise spot and there was a guy there with a new 5.0/6 speed with only a X-pipe and a cat back exhaust. He would only run from a roll so we lined them up and went 20-120. He pulled me by a car. We ran it back, exact same result. I'm super disappointed with that and I just wanna know everyones thoughts. What recourse do I have? I know those things are quick and the fact that it was a roll race favored him, but in my mind my car should have definitely taken that 5.0. Thoughts?
Old 08-14-2014, 02:30 PM
Supreme Member

Received 105 Likes on 86 Posts
Car: 1983 Z28
Engine: 385 Fastburn
Transmission: T-5
Axle/Gears: BorgWarner 9-bolt posi, 3.27 gears
Re: Raced a coyote...

What was the distance?

The 2014 5.0 makes 420 hp, 0-60 in about 4.5 seconds.

It's going to be a quick car and like you already said-is favored in the roll. With 3 more gears than you (2 of them overdrive) he's always going to either A) outrun you or B) pass you when you're pegging your RPMs at the top of 3rd.

Not trying to be harsh, I too have a built TH350 and that limits stuff a bit (which is why I eventually plan to do the manual swap).