TPI Tuned Port Injection discussion and questions. LB9 and L98 tech, porting, tuning, and bolt-on aftermarket products.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Throttle Body Cleaner?!?!

Search this Thread

Old 05-26-2006, 08:58 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Throttle Body Cleaner?!?!

I am new to the whole car thing.. sort of. I did minor stuff in the past. I am mostly the body work and painting type. Anyway someone recommended that I get some throttle body cleaner and spray the throttle body and plates down because I was having some slight performance problems and the car was sitting for 2 years. So that is what I did. It was dark out but I could see some dirty liquid coming out. I put everything back together.. started it up.. everything seemed fine except a high idle.. I attributed that to the cleaner burning off. Well, that doesnt seem like the case! I drove the car home after I sprayed it and had the high idle the entire time. Before work I took off the flow intake lid and saw the throttle body had like a caramelized goo. I wet a cloth with the cleaner and wiped it out the best I could.. that helped bring down the rmps to 1200.. from 2000.. but after work it was back around 2000 in neutral! So what do I do now? I wouldnt mind taking off the throttle body and cleaning it but I am in an apartment complex and they dont allow those things.. they already hounded me for checking my oil. Is there a way I can clean it without taking it off?

I think somthing inside got goo'd up.. and the goo is the grime+cleaner that wasnt cleaned out all the way before I started up the engine and drove off... and the heat is probably what cooked that stuff up real nice..

Yah, no flames please.. mechanics aren't my specialty.. but I am learning..

*note to self: learn on someone else's car*

-Talan
Old 05-26-2006, 10:41 PM

Received 216 Likes on 177 Posts