Transmissions and Drivetrain Need help with your trans? Problems with your axle?

92 Firebird Formula - Auto To Manual Conversion

Search this Thread

Old 09-18-2015, 09:14 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Car: 1992 Firebird Formula 350
Engine: 5.7L V8 L98
Transmission: 700r4
92 Firebird Formula - Auto To Manual Conversion

I don't know if this is the right place to post this question, but its my first time in the forum so please guide a newbie

I tried to refrain from posting in a forum as much as I can but I can't find what I was looking for anywhere! I have a 1992 Firebird Formula v8 5.7L Auto transmission. (Is this bird called Formula 350?)
Now, there's an 86 Firebird being sold around without a steering assembly for $600. It's a V6 Manual. I'm thinking of buying it for $400 if possible, then use that as a donor car for my swap.

Just wondering, is it possible?
Can it happen?
I'm no super mechanic so I would need help
I'm just an enthusiast. haha
Thanks for reading!
Old 09-18-2015, 12:29 PM
Supreme Member

Received 6 Likes on 5 Posts
Car: 1991 RS
Engine: 5.0
Re: 92 Firebird Formula - Auto To Manual Conversion

First off, welcome. And yes this is the right place for this question.

Here are a few threads to start with to get an idea of what's involved.

https://www.thirdgen.org/forums/tran...y-auto-t5.html

https://www.thirdgen.org/g/album/3236127

https://www.thirdgen.org/forums/tran...al-thread.html

Here is a write-up of how it's done.

https://www.thirdgen.org/manualswap/

It's pretty straightforward, just unbolt auto and associated parts, then stick manual and all related parts in. You will need to cut a hole for the shifter obviously, and mount the hydraulics for the clutch setup. The flex plate will need to be changed out for a flywheel and clutch installed. There will be a little bit of wiring for reverse lights and neutral safety switch, but it isn't anything complicated. The donor car should have everything you need for this.