Body General body information and techniques for restoration, repairs, and modifications.

My DIY paint project write up.

Old 01-02-2011, 10:44 AM
Supreme Member

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Car: '88 IROC-Z medium orange metallic
Engine: L98
Transmission: 700R4
Axle/Gears: 3.27
My DIY paint project write up.

I just got finished painting my TA and wanted to post the process and pics for anyone that searches in the future. I searched a bunch before I started the project and couldn't find anything in one thread so I will compile the info that I gathered here. There are thousands of different ways to do these things and I'm sure a pro would pick my procedures apart, but it came out pretty well for me.

First, I'm not a body guy. I'm a machinist/engine builder by trade. I just happen to have a nice garage and can't stand paying someone to do work that I feel I can do myself. So I decided to tackle my own body work. This car was my first project car when I was 19 and I did a LOT of learning on it over the past 8 years so you can imagine how bad the body was.

The first step is to make a relationship with your local body supply shop. They will prove to be an invaluable resource during your project. Some things may cost more than if you were to buy online, but their advice will be worth it.

DISASSEMBLY and STRIPPING: