Body General body information and techniques for restoration, repairs, and modifications.

Single stae urethane vs base coat clear coat urethane

Old 03-23-2011, 08:20 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Single stae urethane vs base coat clear coat urethane

I am getting ready to do my first paintjob and have been reading all the articles on here i can find. I have also been looking at paint at paintforcars,com. Considering it is my first time, which way should I go with the paint? My biggest fear is orangepeel, This car will be used for occasional cruise ins and more daily driver but I want it to look nice. Anxious to hear pros and cons of each and maybe see some pictures showing what you used,

thanks
Old 03-23-2011, 08:34 PM
Supreme Member

Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts
Car: 89 rs, 86 Trans Am
Engine: RS-V6... Trans Am-LG4
Transmission: RS-T5... Trans Am 700r4
Re: Single stae urethane vs base coat clear coat urethane

are you thinking about using a metallic paint or not?

metallic paint should not be an option for single stage

personally, I would only use SS under these conditions...

need a quick, easy, cheap paint job

A sold color like White, red, or maybe black that you can buff back out of it starts to look faded.

This paint may not look as glossy as bc/CC, but it can be close of you are willing to work at it

Last edited by 58mark; 03-24-2011 at 08:09 AM.
Old 03-23-2011, 10:00 PM

Received 3 Likes on 2 Posts
Car: 87 Fomula, bought new, October 86
Engine: 305 Quadrajet,
Transmission: 700R4
Axle/Gears: 9bolt now in, starting on body work