Fabrication Custom fabrication ideas and concepts ranging from body kits, interior work, driveline tech, and much more.

3rd Gen Camaro Street Stock Build

Old 05-21-2009, 10:55 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
3rd Gen Camaro Street Stock Build

Youtube Video added. In-car footage from heat race on page 5.

I'm a newb to Camaros and this forum, but not to wrenching and bulletin boards in general.
My friend Nick and I are currently building a 3rd gen Camaro street stock, I thought I would see what you guys think about it...

Late last Fall, my buddy Nick came by and informed me that he wanted me to go with him to look at a Camaro he saw on craigslist. He said it didn’t have an engine or tranny, but it was only $100 and had a “clean title”. We drove out to the address on the listing and checked it out. Instead of being a car minus an engine and tranny, it turned out to be a shell. It had no interior except for an unbolted driver seat, no engine, no tranny, no wheels and tires, resting on a tree stump and some cinder blocks in an overgrown barnyard, beat up hood laying in the weeds, etc, etc. I tried to talk him out of buying it and I thought that I had succeeded, because he was convinced that it needed more work than he wanted to do to become streetable. Since we didn’t bring a trailer anyway, we left and he spent the night thinking it over. The next day he informed me that he was going to buy it and build a street stock, so we grabbed his trailer, swung by the junkyard to get some wheels tires,and lugnuts, then went and retrieved one slightly used 1984 Camaro.
Name:  078.jpg
Views: 15018
Size:  98.8 KB
Name:  079.jpg
Views: 12077
Size:  125.8 KB