TBI Throttle Body Injection discussion and questions. L03/CFI tech and other performance enhancements.

Dual TBI Setup.... idea (maybe)

Old 01-14-2003, 05:50 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Dual TBI Setup.... idea (maybe)

I got thinking about a dual TBI setup when I was driving home from Tennessee to Rhode Island (long drive and the family was sleeping, so you know... the mind begins to wonder) and the problems where our ECM's can drive 4 injectors which makes it almost impossible to do.

I'm sure I'm gonna get my ball$ busted for this one, but what if you take two TBI units but only one unit is complete (FPR, TPS, IAC, Injectors, etc...) and the other unit is only there to to supply air (the FPR, TPS, IAC, Injectors are removed but the butterflies and linkage is functional).

Then, on the unit which is fully functional, you install some large, powerful injectors to compensate for the added air going into the engine via the two TBI's.

I have no experience (yet) in burning my own chips or even understanding what size injectors and duty cycle and all that other stuff that goes along with it. But, in my mind, I don't see why it wouldn't work if the injectors are big enough to supply the amount of fuel needed by the added air flow.

Only one TPS is needed since both TBI's are hooked up on the same linkage (like dual quad carbs).

Only one IAC is needed for idle.

Of course, you only have to worry about fuel supply to one TBI unit along with only having to deal with one FPR. I'm sure the pressure would have to be set up there pretty high compared to what most of us now run, though.

The ECM would only be driving two injectors and I don;t think the O2 sensor cares where the air actually come from as long as the injectors are large enough to handle the added air to equal out the AIR/FUEL mixture.