Tech / General Engine Is your car making a strange sound or won't start? Thinking of adding power with a new combination? Need other technical information or engine specific advice? Don't see another board for your problem? Post it here!

Do I have a stuck lifter? (with video)

Old 12-25-2009, 06:42 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Car: IROC-Z
Engine: 350 TPI
Transmission: 700R4
Do I have a stuck lifter? (with video)

Hi, I'm hoping someone can help me out.

I think I have a stuck lifter (no 8 cyl) and have read 3 different ways of shifting it.

1) Drop a quart and add ATF.
2) Drop oil and filter replace with Marvel Mystery Oil and 5w30.
3) Add a quart of Diesel idle for 2 min's then replace oil and filter.

I've never worked on a push rod engine design before, and never had to service a tappet/lifter, have you ever fixed this type of problem before or tried any of the above methods?

Here is a youtube video of my camaro, its a hot start, car was running for 20 min's prior to taking this. The outside temp was about 60DegF.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ehXyfx5TI10

Any help greatly appreciated..

Last edited by rockstar08; 12-25-2009 at 07:05 PM.
Old 12-26-2009, 10:16 AM

Car: 82 Z28
Engine: 350 .040 over
Axle/Gears: 3.73 rears
Re: Do I have a stuck lifter? (with video)

Its hard to tell from your video, but it does sound like a lifter. Lemme start with some basic questions. Are you running the correct weight oil, and is your oil level correct? (Im assuming you have checked these already)

All three of your methods do the same thing...they thin out the oil and add some cleaning detergents to the mix. Me personally? Id do 2 and 3....but remember that this may not fix anything. You may actually have to replace the lifter. If you have never done this kind of work before, its a rewarding job, but make sure you label everything as you take it off.
Old 12-26-2009, 02:54 PM
Supreme Member

Car: 1996 Vette / 1992 GSX1100F Suzuki
Engine: 1996 Corvette Coupe 388 LT1 (+.060)