Aftermarket Product Review Provide questions and answers about aftermarket parts for the Third Generation F-Body.

HID or LED

Search this Thread

Old 04-14-2017, 08:11 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
HID or LED

Hey guys, looking to swap out my headlights to either HID or LED. if I go worth HID I know I have to do a retrofit to projector housings. I've never used LED headlights before, what do people suggest? Looking to improve both visability and looks.

This is on a 92 camaro

Thanks
Old 04-14-2017, 01:02 PM
Supreme Member

Received 316 Likes on 259 Posts
Car: 89RS vert
Engine: Erod
Transmission: 4L65e
Axle/Gears: BW, 3.27
Re: HID or LED

Retrofit, probably cheaper too.
Old 04-14-2017, 06:02 PM
Supreme Member

Received 44 Likes on 38 Posts
Car: '87 IROC
Engine: LB9
Transmission: TH700R4

Do you have these in mind for LED's?

Name:  led%20low_zpsemya4pr8.jpg
Views: 6898
Size:  30.5 KB

Name:  led%20high_zpsufybf6wy.jpg
Views: 3552
Size:  29.3 KB

Or just sealed beam conversion housings and LED bulbs?

I have some experience with just the LED bulbs (9004 and 9005/9006). They light up the road real well. They also seem to put out out an oboxious amount of glare. I've noticed at times that road signs get lit up during the daylight hours. Perhaps this is more the brightness than glare.

None of the above are DOT approved. YMMV
The following users liked this post:
TWON_3rdGEN (10-19-2019)
Old 04-14-2017, 08:15 PM

Car: 91 RS
Engine: 350
Transmission: T5
Axle/Gears: 3:73

I have the ones similar to the ones posted above, i like them.
good clean light output, the pic above they show the high beams. low beams are just the top row and two center leds light up, can sort of see in pic of my car

Last edited by sid 91RS; 04-14-2017 at 08:35 PM. Reason: Add pics
Old 04-15-2017, 12:47 PM
Supreme Member

Originally Posted by sid 91RS
I have the ones similar to the ones posted above, i like them.