Engine Swap Everything about swapping an engine into your Third Gen.....be it V6, V8, LTX/LSX, crate engine, etc. Pictures, questions, answers, and work logs.

Complete L31-R Swap Guide [91 TPI]

Search this Thread

Old 04-02-2017, 11:16 PM

Received 9 Likes on 6 Posts
Car: 1991 Z28
Engine: L31-R 350 w/ EBL P4
Transmission: 700R4
Axle/Gears: 2.73
Complete L31-R Swap Guide [91 TPI]

My background is in the computer industry. On computer forums, complete guides are common. Guides will lay out the specific parts, programs, and steps needed to accomplish a task. I've found guides like this less prevalent in the car world. Build threads are usually the only guides available for an engine swap. Scanning through possibly hundreds of posts to figure out their build is not ideal, and it is likely that many different threads will need to be looked at to gain answers to all possible questions related to the swap. With this guide, I want to give a complete list of parts I used in my L31-R swap. I also want to pass on any useful tips or information that I learned about the swap.

NOTE: This guide concerns a stock L31-R swap into a 91 LB9 car. No cam change, no head upgrades, or anything else. What came with the crate engine is what went into my car. My 700R4 was rebuilt, the TPI system was reused, and all engine accessories were used from my car. This guide will not go into detail about anything that isn't involved in a 91 TPI Camaro swap, eg: TBI cars, two piece rear main seal cars, T5 cars, carbed cars, or MAF cars. Most of the information in this guide will apply to those cars but some tweaks may be required.

Quick specs for the L31-R:
  1. 350 (5.7L) Chevy V8 originally installed in late 90s and early 00s trucks and vans
  2. Vortec heads
  3. 4 bolt main
  4. Hydraulic Roller Cam
  5. One piece rear main seal
  6. Center bolt valve covers
  7. 255 HP and 330 FT/LB Torque
List of parts I used in my swap:
  • L31-R crate engine