Exhaust Post your questions and suggestions about stock or aftermarket exhaust setups. Third Gen exhaust sound files and videos!

Glasspack in place of catalytic converter?

Search this Thread

Old 04-24-2011, 09:20 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Car: 1986 Trans Am
Glasspack in place of catalytic converter?

Has anyone ever put a glasspack muffler in place of a cat converter before? I have a flowmaster exhaust, but just hate the cat it has. It eliminates so much of the sound the car has. How would it sound having glasspack in place of it? would it make it any louder?
Old 04-25-2011, 07:17 PM
Supreme Member

Received 44 Likes on 42 Posts
Car: 86 Trans Am, 92 Firebird
Engine: 408 sbc, 3.1L of raw power
Transmission: TKO600, T5
Axle/Gears: Moser 9", 3:70 trutac, 3:23 torsion
Re: Glasspack in place of catalytic converter?

a new high flow cat will keep you legal, and eliminate the original, probably shot/plugged stock cat.
Old 04-26-2011, 06:27 AM

Car: 85 firebird
Engine: 3.4L V6
Transmission: auto

2x on the new high flow cat. Mines shot to hell right now so ill be swaping it out sometime this week after the engine is back in it.
Old 04-28-2011, 07:45 PM

Car: Bone stock 1989 Iroc T-Top,1991 Z28
Engine: 5.7, Carbed 383
Transmission: 700r4, T-56

If you're worried about sound, just replace the cat with a straight piece of pipe?
Old 04-28-2011, 09:29 PM
Supreme Member

Received 11 Likes on 7 Posts
Car: 1989 Camaro IROC-Z
Engine: ZZZ# 0607 of 1200 produced
Transmission: Pro-Built 700R4/Vig.2400
Axle/Gears: 3.27 BW 9 Bolt PBR Disc

I used a carsound (magnaflow) cat to replace my not that old catco cat, and noticed a much better sound.
Old 04-28-2011, 09:38 PM
Supreme Member

Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts
Car: SOLD IT. Mopar guy only now.
Engine: gone
Transmission: gone
Axle/Gears: gone

Yes im a fan of the Carsound converterers too...for aftermarkets....other than that if you dont mind risking a fine you can run no converter and get all of that engines sound