Firebirds for Sale Post your Firebird for Sale.

[MI] '88 Formula Maui Blue project car

Search this Thread

Old 08-09-2017, 07:40 PM
Want a title? Post!

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
'88 Formula Maui Blue project car

It breaks my heart to have to come to this and sell. No more bragging rights about how I still have my 1st car after 20+ years.

This '88, 305, TBI 5.0L Formula, my first car, was purchased in '95. Mere months before I was legal to drive. My dad always told me he was going to buy me an Iroc when I was 16, but I was never fond of this idea, as I did not care for the Camaro. There were just too many around my small town. When he pulled into the driveway with this and called me outside, I was floored and instantly in love, yet also terrified. At 16 I was afraid it was a stick-shift.

He bought it from the original owner with 123,000 miles on it. I drove the crap out of it until I graduated. The summer after my Sr. year, a buddy borrowed it to take another buddy home one night and decided to take the back roads home, and hit a dear.

This smashed the windshield, broke off the passenger headlight, crinkled the hood, and dented the fender pushing it back and causing damage to the passenger door. For where the damage was on the windshield I was very fortunate it didn't also damage the T-tops.

Sadly the car sat for a couple of years at my parents when I moved to Chicago, but I managed to keep dad from selling it. When I finally moved to Michigan I had the means and the place to keep and restore it. So my buddy and I drove back to Oklahoma to trailer it back. Thus the restoration began. It did not, however, reach completion due to financial strain.

Servicing before the accident:
Oil sending unit
Replaced wire harness on cooling fan.
Alternator, Starter
Ignition switch (2)
Water Pump, Radiator
Heater Core
O2 Sensor
Hood strut supports

Servicing After the accident:
Alignment (tie-rods and sway-bar)
Fuel sending unit.
Alternator, Starter
Thermostat