Organized Drag Racing and Autocross Drag racing and autocross discussions and questions. Techniques, tips, suggestions, and "what will I run?" questions.

drag racing jobs

Old 01-23-2007, 03:17 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
drag racing jobs

Hi eveyone does anyone know of any Highperformance shops that are looking for a technician. I graduated from gm school a year ago with an associates, I have about 2 years experience at a gm dealership but i've been working on cars much longer. I am in New York but traveling to Jersey isn't a problem. Thanks
Old 01-23-2007, 03:52 PM
Supreme Member

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Car: 1984 Z28
Engine: SLOW carbed ls
Transmission: TH400 with brake, 8" PTC converter
Axle/Gears: moser 9" 4.11
you're better off going to dealerships and then getting your foot in the door at a performance/custom shop, if you can find some. I have buddies that own shops in the chicago area and they don't pay nearly as much as a dealership would pay for mechanics.
Old 01-23-2007, 10:44 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
i have a few freinds that were on a top fuel team, its pretty much a "who you know" type deal to get on one. i think bersteins guys make about 65-70k a year. also alot of teams wont hire crew guys that are married or have kids.

for just high performance stuff, most succesful places the guys started out doing medial jobs at shops learning and doing things to make a name for themselves then branch out on their own. with the efi systems of today, knowing how to succesfully tune a performance car is a must. theres shops out there that dont do anything else but tune engines on a dyno.
Old 01-23-2007, 11:32 PM

Received 120 Likes on 101 Posts
Car: 87 IROC L98
Engine: 588 Alcohol BBC
Transmission: Powerglide
Axle/Gears: Ford 9"/31 spline spool/4.86
I'm sure high performance shops are no different. I do diesel engines. We're not going to let an unskilled, no knowledge/no experience apprentice jump right in and rebuild a $40,000+ engine.