Third Generation F-Body Message Boards

Third Generation F-Body Message Boards (https://www.thirdgen.org/forums/)
-   Aftermarket Product Review (https://www.thirdgen.org/forums/aftermarket-product-review/)
-   -   K&N filters... (https://www.thirdgen.org/forums/aftermarket-product-review/643111-k-n-filters.html)

Maroonz2800 02-25-2012 07:22 PM

K&N filters...

Are k&n filters worth it? they say they give you a few extra horsepower and better fuel economy blah blah blah blah...do they actually do the job better than your average filter?

Killerz187 02-25-2012 07:27 PM

Re: K&N filters...

If they do, I've never felt a difference.

I'd say just stick to one of the cheapos. Purolators have never failed me before, and I can buy a load of them for the price of a K&N.

DJP87Z28 02-25-2012 07:34 PM

You either use K&N filters or you don't. I have been using the same K&N's since 1988 (do clean and reoil) and I like them. But do they give extra horsepower, anyones guess.

DJP87Z28 02-25-2012 07:39 PM

1 Attachment(s)
You either use K&N filters or you don't. I have used the same K&N filters since 1988 (do clean and reoil) and like them. Do they add extra horsepower, it is open to anyones opinion.

Killerz187 02-25-2012 07:48 PM

I will give them one thing, they do last forever if they are taken care of, so they're worth it in that regard.

Ron U.S.M.C. 02-25-2012 09:30 PM

I prefer this with my cowl hood. Its a Summit brand power lid and filter. It oils and cleans like the K&N
Dose it filter well or better ? I know it sucks air like there no tomorrow put your hand on top and you can feel it.
http://img585.imageshack.us/img585/3128/38435932.jpg
http://img684.imageshack.us/img684/8107/1001185i.jpg

InfernalVortex 02-26-2012 01:07 AM

Summit K&N knockoff stuff is allegedly made by Spectre. I run a summit K&N type filter too.