Third Generation F-Body Message Boards

Third Generation F-Body Message Boards (https://www.thirdgen.org/forums/)
-   Carburetors (https://www.thirdgen.org/forums/carburetors/)
-   -   No fuel to the Carburetor. I just installed a new mechanical fuel pump (https://www.thirdgen.org/forums/carburetors/761942-no-fuel-carburetor-i.html)

Al_Camaro 06-08-2019 10:59 PM

No fuel to the Carburetor. I just installed a new mechanical fuel pump

I'm new to this and I have an 86 Camaro berlinetta with a 305 5.0l v8 it has a carburetor and no fuel is coming out of the mechanical fuel pump into the carb. My tank is filled half way and I just installed a new mechanical fuel pump. What could be the problem?

NoEmissions84TA 06-09-2019 12:09 AM

Re: No fuel to the Carburetor. I just installed a new mechanical fuel pump

You got the lines reversed, or it needs to be primed.
Or the fuel pump pushrod fell out when you weren't looking.

//<86TA>\\ 06-09-2019 10:36 AM

Did you leave the bolt in that holds the pushrod while you change the pump?

Al_Camaro 06-10-2019 10:03 AM

Originally Posted by NoEmissions84TA (Post 6307126)
You got the lines reversed, or it needs to be primed.
Or the fuel pump pushrod fell out when you weren't looking.

How do you prime it? And I made sure the fuel pump pushrod was in. The smaller line is the return line and the bigger one is the feed line.

Al_Camaro 06-10-2019 10:20 AM

Originally Posted by //<86TA>\\ (Post 6307172)
Did you leave the bolt in that holds the pushrod while you change the pump?

I don't have those bolts in could that be the problem?

ironwill 06-10-2019 11:45 AM

Originally Posted by Al_Camaro (Post 6307122)
I'm new to this and I have an 86 Camaro berlinetta with a 305 5.0l v8 it has a carburetor and no fuel is coming out of the mechanical fuel pump into the carb. My tank is filled half way and I just installed a new mechanical fuel pump.

What could be the problem?

A number of things: