Third Generation F-Body Message Boards

Third Generation F-Body Message Boards (https://www.thirdgen.org/forums/)
-   Electronics (https://www.thirdgen.org/forums/electronics/)
-   -   Ignition wiring (https://www.thirdgen.org/forums/electronics/636900-ignition-wiring.html)

kkingsrulee 12-23-2011 05:31 PM

Ignition wiring

My '90 RS 305 TBI is throwing a code 42, and it's a bit hard to start and idles a little rough. Other than that it runs fine.

I've been trying to determine the cause of the code, which states it's either an open or short in the EST circuit, a faulty ignition module, or faulty ECM.

I've tested the ignition module three times and all three times it came up good. I'm thinking there's a problem with wiring from the ECM to the ignition module.

Here's a reference I've been using

http://www.gearhead-efi.com/gearhead...c/TBIcodes.pdf

I'm not experienced at all with electrical circuits, though I have a multimeter.

Assuming I do find a problem with one of the circuits from the ECM to the ignition module, I'll have to tear through the wiring harness to locate this one wire and replace it, or what?

Any advice is appreciated, thanks.

85irocinjected 12-24-2011 06:52 PM

Re: Ignition wiring

With the hard to start problem, the problem is most likely a grounded EST line, circuit 423.

Check that first.
Also a PROM not fully seated in the ECM can cause a Code 42

85irocinjected 12-24-2011 06:58 PM

Oh, just realized you said your not very good at electrical stuff.
To test if its grounded:

1. Turn ignition to OFF
2. Unplug ECM connectors
3. Turn ignition to ON
4. Set OHM Meter to 1000-2000 OHM Range
5, Probe ECM harness connector Circuit 423 with the RED lead on the OHM meter and the BLACK lead on a ground. It SHOULD read LESS than 500 OHMS

If it does not read less than 500 OHMs the you have an open circuit (no connection) or a bad ignition module (which you said tested good).

kkingsrulee 12-24-2011 09:13 PM