Third Generation F-Body Message Boards

Third Generation F-Body Message Boards (https://www.thirdgen.org/forums/)
-   Fabrication (https://www.thirdgen.org/forums/fabrication/)
-   -   forced fab idea (https://www.thirdgen.org/forums/fabrication/223778-forced-fab-idea.html)

GreyFox 02-14-2004 06:48 PM

forced fab idea

here is an idea i have been throwing around for 2 yrs now and i want SOLID opinions, superchargers as i understand them and turbos, both create an aux air supply only at a higher rate, so here is my question, what about the air/smog pump, you think it would be possible to route the hose in my induction line, and if so what mods would you have to take into consideration such as a blow off valve because the way it looks is it creates air (maybe not as high as a charger) but it does, or maybe not re-route but add another with the aid of a belt and some pulleys, let me know what ya think, like i said i have been thinking about this for a while now, and would like some solid advice from people who know what the **** they are talking about, i'm not an amateaur mechanic, but i'm no one man pit crew

85TransAm406 02-14-2004 06:51 PM

It won't flow enough CFM to increase the pressure ratio in your induction system. I've seen people use them on 5HP briggs and stratton engines as a blower though.

ede 02-15-2004 07:30 AM

i've read about a smog pump being used for a small engien, like 5hp briggs. they don't put out very much so it'd be very limited on what it'd be able to feed

MYBLUZ 02-16-2004 12:15 PM

What about putting a small air compressor in the trunk and plumbing it into the induction system. I got the idea one night outside the shop we had a burn barrel going. I wanted to see what compressed air would do to a fire. Guess what, it stokes a fire just as well as gas....

85TransAm406 02-16-2004 10:00 PM

A compressor won't produce enough CFM for the engine. plenty of pressure through a 1/4" hose, not through a 3" intake tube.