Third Generation F-Body Message Boards

Third Generation F-Body Message Boards (https://www.thirdgen.org/forums/)
-   History / Originality (https://www.thirdgen.org/forums/history-originality/)
-   -   1983 5.0 HO 5 speed. Restore or restomod? (https://www.thirdgen.org/forums/history-originality/698385-1983-5-0-ho.html)

Z28Disaster 03-14-2014 04:03 PM

1983 5.0 HO 5 speed. Restore or restomod?

I recently found and bought back my 1983 Z28 5.0 H.O. I origially bought this car back in 1996 from the original owner. It was complete in real good shape. I drove it for a couple years......got a ton of tickets from driving like a retard(like we all do at 19-20) and wound up painting and selling it to get myself out of trouble. It always bothered me i never got to finish or drive it all painted up and pretty.

Now that i have it back(16 years later), its in pretty rough shape. However the car is all there and its not hacked up to hell. I am a body man by trade, so part of me wants to restore it, the other part wants to toss in an LS1 and a 6 speed and paint it red(car is originally tan w/ gold). I have the LS1 and 6 speed and itd real tempting.

From what i read, there were only 600-700 of theses made in '83. Do you guys think its worth putting back to original or restomod it?

Van Nuys born 03-14-2014 05:25 PM

Re: 1983 5.0 HO 5 speed. Restore or restomod?

From your discription I'd put in the LS1 and 6 speed you already have. Bringing it back to stock would probably cost alot more money and time.

Now if it had low miles and was in super nice original shape... It would be hard to not leave it stock. Doing mods is more fun too IMO. This all depends on your states smog laws.

Z28Disaster 03-14-2014 08:16 PM

Its got around 89,000 miles on it. The original paint and stripes were ugly. I really want to restomod it. Just wanted to hear from other 3rd gen enthusiasts what their opinions were

8t2 z-chev 03-14-2014 08:55 PM