Third Generation F-Body Message Boards

Third Generation F-Body Message Boards (https://www.thirdgen.org/forums/)
-   Interior (https://www.thirdgen.org/forums/interior/)
-   -   Interior Color Conversion? (https://www.thirdgen.org/forums/interior/758059-interior-color-conversion.html)

pognoot 12-23-2018 09:18 AM

Interior Color Conversion?

Newbie here. Say you had a 3rd Gen T/A and you wanted to change the interior colors from, say, beige to black. How hard would this be? I am seeing velour kits, carpet kits, and door panel kits are available online. What about the rest of the plastic molding throughout the interior?

84 1LE 12-23-2018 12:47 PM

Re: Interior Color Conversion?

Find the desired color plastics from another 3rd gen car, purchase/swap/done.You could dye the plastics, but they'll look like chit after some wear sets in.

Steve86TA 12-23-2018 06:24 PM

Very easy swap. Easiest thing would be find someone near you parting out a car with black interior and purchase it all. Shipping some of the the interior parts will cost more than the parts themselves. You can buy the carpet, headliner, sailpanals and visors new if needed. You can also put up a wanted add in the classifieds here, incase someone is close to you.

Where are you located?

pognoot 12-23-2018 07:39 PM

I'm in Denver. I haven't found the car I want yet. I'm still in the research stages, the "what if I find a great car, but I wish the interior color was different" phase.

tealman92 12-23-2018 08:30 PM

Easier to find the car with exactly what you want. Finding complete good condition plastics are going to cost you some money then add seats,headliner,door panels and carpet. It will be cheaper to just find a car with the interior you want. Say you find a nice 6000 dollar car but you will need to swap the interior add 2k to your price and figure 8k when your done. Can you find a better color combo for 8k without the swap? Go that route first.

Drew 12-24-2018 12:17 AM