Third Generation F-Body Message Boards

Third Generation F-Body Message Boards (https://www.thirdgen.org/forums/)
-   Tech / General Engine (https://www.thirdgen.org/forums/tech-general-engine/)
-   -   Few Technical Questions (https://www.thirdgen.org/forums/tech-general-engine/281177-few-technical-questions.html)

1BadThirdgen 02-28-2005 01:50 PM

Few Technical Questions

I'm thinking about buying a new car, and have a few questions about it, since i'm fairly new to it....

1) What would cause a heater/AC to not work only on the following settings (MAX, HTR)??

2) What is the cylinder ball next to the charcoal canister on the driver's side?

3) How serious of an issue is it if the power steering lines are leaking fluid very slowly. It seems between the fittings from the lines and the connectors, fluids seems to be slowly leaking.

Any help would be appreciated.......Thanks

Also what happened to the VIN decoder on this site? Any other sites offer a free thirdgen vin decoder?

Thanks

HalfInchWrench 02-28-2005 02:01 PM

For # 1 there is a brown switch thingy that the slider moves back and forth. That's what caused the same condition on mine. Fan would work on all speeds but Max. Mine was worn out. The fan speed switch may also have dirty contacts and need replacing. Check the other piece first. Mine looked like it was almost burned up.

2) I forget what it's called. Some kind of harmless emissions thing. Don't take it out. You won't gain anything.

3) Many of the power steering lines do that. They sweat a bit. I wouldn't worry about it. Check the fluid every now and then to keep topped up.

RB83L69 02-28-2005 02:24 PM

1. What do you mean by "not work"?