Third Generation F-Body Message Boards

Third Generation F-Body Message Boards (https://www.thirdgen.org/forums/)
-   TPI (https://www.thirdgen.org/forums/tpi/)
-   -   New to TPI.. Need help with H/C/I combo (https://www.thirdgen.org/forums/tpi/756603-new-tpi-need-help.html)

Brandonjsims 10-09-2018 11:14 AM

New to TPI.. Need help with H/C/I combo

Hello all, I am new to the TPI world. I have owned 4 3rd gen trans am's and i am now on my first TPI. I have a 92 T/A convertible with the 305 TPI. I am looking into doing a heads, cam, and intake swap on it along with full exhaust. I have been reading many threads and trying to research things on my own and I am just getting confused and frustrated. This car is not going to be a race car, I am wanting something I can go cruise around town with all my buddies. I am wanting it to sound well and have a somewhat lopey idle but not sacrifice drive ability (I.E large stall). I have been leaning towards the trick flow super 23 heads but I'm not sure that will work with the Chevrolet ram jet intake i am looking at as well. I also have no clue what cam specs to go with either. I would love to get some input on what H/C/I combinations everyone else is running or for someone to point me in the right direction. I am a LS guy and have thought about swapping it but there is just something pulling me away from doing that. Thank you for the help in advance.
https://cimg2.ibsrv.net/gimg/www.thi...f2e4c9dd40.jpg
1992 Trans Am WS6. 305 TPI Convertible

ULTM8Z 10-09-2018 08:45 PM

Re: New to TPI.. Need help with H/C/I combo

I'm not sure I'd ditch the TPI on a 305. probably will make it a lot more sluggish on the street unless you plan to run upwards of a 3.73 axle ratio. it doesn't have the cubes or the long stroke of the 350, so short runners may be a detriment if you're mainly building an around-town street driver.

Abubaca 10-09-2018 09:02 PM