History / Originality Got a question about 1982-1992 Camaro or Firebird history? Have a question about original parts, options, RPO codes, when something was available, or how to document your car? Those questions, answers, and much more!

1983 Z28 H.O. Restoration

Search this Thread

Old 07-19-2013, 01:40 PM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Car: Customized 1982 z28
Engine: L98 350
Transmission: 700R4
Axle/Gears: 3.23 10 bolt Limited Slip
1983 Z28 H.O. Restoration

I haven't introduced myself formally around here but I really enjoy this board and all of the knowledge it provides. My name is Josh, I am 33 years old and I am from Minnesota. I was a basic mechanic that worked for a Cadillac Hummer dealership for plenty of years before going back to college to write software. I am starting on the restoration of an 83 Z28 H.O. with an L69. This is my second Camaro as I owned, maintained and daily drove an 89 RS with an L03 for about 10 years before this one. I recently sold that one when I decided to undertake this project.

The story of how I received this Camaro spans quite a few years. My stepfather bought it in around 1998 and it was in almost mint condition at the time. He drove it for a few years and I really coveted it. It actually inspired me to buy my RS. They moved out of state, years went by and I heard about him having tuning and oil leakage issues with it and eventually it ended up garaged. I never thought that I would get a chance to own the car as it would almost certainly be given to his biological son who would proceed to beat the tar out of it, run it without oil and cement it's place in the junkyard within a week or two. Well, it turns out his son turned the car down, probably because it was not cool enough and when it was given to my mother, she handed it right over knowing that I would be able to take good care of it.