Tech / General Engine Is your car making a strange sound or won't start? Thinking of adding power with a new combination? Need other technical information or engine specific advice? Don't see another board for your problem? Post it here!

Hot Rod Magazine Budget 305 Build

Search this Thread

Old 05-23-2017, 04:58 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Hot Rod Magazine Budget 305 Build

Hello all! I'm new here and here and a new owner of an 83 stock Camaro with 80,000 miles. I've been lurking for a while doing a lot of research on what to do with it outside of a swap.

I have basically zero technical knowledge on vehicle maintenance and upgrades. What I did find though, is an article online from Hot Rod Magazine that basically does what I want to do for this car.

http://www.hotrod.com/articles/ccrp-0606-supercharged-small-block-chevy-engine-build/amp/

Nothing too crazy, IMO. I just need some guidance on where to start. I'm a soldier, so I want to set aside money every 1st and 15th to complete the build over time.

I just don't know where to start. I've added these parts to the various shopping carts, but what do I do first? In what order do I buy these parts in order to drop em off at the shop in a couple days while keeping this as my daily driver?

Thanks in advance for the help. I did a search, but I haven't found it on the forums. Please feel free to delete this is it's in the wrong section.
Old 05-23-2017, 06:09 PM
Supreme Member

Received 422 Likes on 323 Posts
Car: 86 Imponte Ruiner 450GT, 91 Formula
Engine: 350 Vortec, FIRST TPI, 325 RWHP
Transmission: 700R4 3000 stall.
Axle/Gears: 9 Bolt Torsen 3.70
Re: Hot Rod Magazine Budget 305 Build

Expect to spend quite a bit if you are having a shop do this. Also don't buy the parts ahead of time - talk to the shop and see what they recommend. The problem with buying your own parts is the shop will not be able to stand behind them through their wholesale channels.