TPI Tuned Port Injection discussion and questions. LB9 and L98 tech, porting, tuning, and bolt-on aftermarket products.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Question about freeze plugs

Search this Thread

Old 07-19-2017, 02:13 PM
On Probation

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Car: 1987 IROC-Z Camaro
Engine: 305 TPI
Transmission: T-5 5 Speed
Question about freeze plugs

Hi everyone...first off I'm no master mechanic...I know how to change alternators, starters, spark plugs, fuel filters etc. So I just educated myself on freeze plugs. I recently about 4 months ago bought me an 87 IROC-Z which I will take to the grave with me btw . Anyways...I took it to my long time trusted $65 an hour mechanic to give her a good look over...so he has had the car a little while now, and went to replace the rear main seal, no problem right. Well he called me and said that he noticed a freeze plug was leaking so he went to replace it and damaged a bearing??? Honestly I was so sort of shocked and confused I didn't really think to ask what bearing it was...I assume camshaft bearings? Anyways, him being honest, said he would have to tear down the entire top end of the engine to replace the bearing with no charge to me! So I told some of my friends, and they said he will have to replace the seals and what not...was this a benefit for me...sounds like I'm basically getting a rebuild...and technically if he finds things wrong which I guess is good then he would have to replace it...bc my intent was to never tear down the engine in the first place. Thanks guys!
Old 07-19-2017, 03:22 PM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Car: 91 Firebird
Re: Question about freeze plugs

Wait, what bearing did he damage? Which freeze plug did he change? How can he see that he damaged a bearing anyways???? If he damaged a bearing it was probably spinning the tires and over revved the engine.
Old 07-19-2017, 05:55 PM
On Probation