Tech / General Engine Is your car making a strange sound or won't start? Thinking of adding power with a new combination? Need other technical information or engine specific advice? Don't see another board for your problem? Post it here!

No Start - Assistance or Recommend Mobile Mechanic?

Old 07-21-2018, 02:32 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Car: 1987 IROC-Z
No Start - Assistance or Recommend Mobile Mechanic?

Hi Guys ~ I've been lurking but and this is my first time logging in for awhile. Unfortunately, I need assistance. Is there anyone here that can assist with a no-start or possibly recommend a mobile mechanic in Kent WA?

I usually like to do my own work but I'd rather someone else just take care of it and get-er-done without endless troubleshooting on my part. Most obvious conclusion is that water got into dist cap but I thought that would have dried out by now (after 2 weeks warm weather).

Issue: I hosed down my 87 IROC pretty aggressively a couple of weeks ago (including the windshield cowl area). Afterwards, I started the car and it immediately sputtered, knocked, and died. It turns over but won't start. Gas is good but haven't checked much else.

Anyway, let me know. I've got cashola and/or interesting trades =)

Cheers, Jeff

Last edited by z28v8; 07-21-2018 at 03:12 PM.
Old 07-21-2018, 07:37 PM

Re: No Start - Assistance or Recommend Mobile Mechanic?

:::update:::

Took the dist cap off and it was bone dry (as expected). Visually looks ok, as do the wires. Wire brushed and reassembled but still no luck.

Before the wash, the car was running perfectly with no signs of problems. After the wash, the car just suddenly had a hard time running and stalled, all over the course of about 30 seconds.

Any ideas from the experts?
Old 07-21-2018, 08:15 PM

Received 21 Likes on 19 Posts
Car: 87 Formula, 91 Trans Am
Engine: 355 tpi, 305tpi
Transmission: 700r4, 700r4

Have you checked for spark?
Old 07-21-2018, 08:37 PM
Supreme Member