History / Originality Got a question about 1982-1992 Camaro or Firebird history? Have a question about original parts, options, RPO codes, when something was available, or how to document your car? Those questions, answers, and much more!

Need advice on price of 1986 Camaro

Search this Thread

Old 08-14-2018, 06:39 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Need advice on price of 1986 Camaro

I currently work as a mechanic and the other day someone brought in an 1986 IROC-Z. It seems to have been sitting for a little while and they want it to run right so they can sell it. I want to buy but I have no idea what people are paying for these currently. I think it is a one owner car but the exterior has seen better days. It has a 305 tpi with a 700r4 trans. The odometer claims just under 40,000 miles but it may have rolled over, who knows. It needs a tune up and new tires. I quoted them just over $1000 to fix the most prominent issues. It leaks a little oil out of a variety of different places. If it has been sitting then the seals around the valves will probably be cracked and leak a little. I forgot to take a picture of the RPO codes which I can still get. The pricing of other cars for sale are perfect looking cars at some rather large prices.

6 months ago I bought a 1985 Corvette with 350 tpi and manual trans. It was in a little worse shape than this Camaro so I cant see the price being much higher. The corvette is better performance wise and has better suspension set up but it's not the best daily driver. I paid $3250 for a Corvette that needed tires and some love. I don;t see how this Camaro is worth much more but I don't know which is why I'm asking you guys. Paint is coming off, parts of the stripes and IROC stickers are missing and the fog light is broken
Old 08-14-2018, 08:54 PM

Received 167 Likes on 123 Posts
Car: 87 IROC-Z, 82 Pace Car
Re: Need advice on price of 1986 Camaro