Body General body information and techniques for restoration, repairs, and modifications.

Hood hinge adjustment

Search this Thread

Old 09-21-2018, 07:32 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Car: 1988 Camaro IROC Z
Engine: 427 Stroker
Transmission: 700 R4
Axle/Gears: Moser Street axles and 410 Yukon
Hood hinge adjustment

what's good everybody I'm new here I've been reading these forums for years just recently joined this form has been very helpful I just recently had my 88 painted and put new hood hinges and put shocks on now to open the hood the driver side gets in a bind and is actually nicking the edge of the windshield at the bottom the gaps are perfect and closes fine but trying to lift it up I'm wondering if the hinge on the driver side needs to be pulled forward but I'm not sure I've never done it before any help is appreciated
Old 09-21-2018, 02:05 PM
Supreme Member

Received 44 Likes on 40 Posts
Car: 1989 Firebird
Engine: 5.7 LS1
Transmission: T56
Re: Hood hinge adjustment

there is play in the bolt holes so you can adjust the hinge how ever if your body lines are perfect there may be other issues at play. Has your fenders been off the car?

If you decide to adjust it tape off the paint around the edge of the hood and the fenders etc.
I would remove the hood latch on the front but not absolutely needed, but it allows you to hold it closed without the force to close it (thus not messing the paint)
loosen the bolts and trial and error try to adjust the hinge .

I have had the lift struts go bad and it makes it want to twist the hood as you open it, so try taking off the lift struts and see if the problem still exists.

If you just had it painted you may want to take it to the body shop to adjust, if they replaced your hinges they should make sure they are right.
Old 09-21-2018, 03:07 PM

Originally Posted by Aviator857