Carburetors Carb discussion and questions. Upgrading your Third Gen's carburetor, swapping TBI to carburetor, or TPI to carburetor? Need LG4 or H.O. info? Post it here.

Un-f@#$ing an 86 LG4 Quadrajet

Old 11-11-2018, 12:14 AM

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Car: 1986 Contempo Cantara Camaro
Engine: LG4 5.0 V8
Transmission: T5 5 -speed
Axle/Gears: 3.23
Un-f@#$ing an 86 LG4 Quadrajet

I just bought a 1986 Camaro with the LG4 V8 and 5-speed. It runs, but not very well. And unfortunately one or more of the POs have ripped out most of the emissions equipment, and left a bunch of open vacuum leaks on the carb.

I'm trying to sort out which port is for what, and figure out which emissions parts I can live without for now, and which are critical.

I've done some research and found this great link on how the system works. It's pretty clever, and as a former mechanical engineer I love learning about stuff like this. But most of my life I have designed or worked on electronic fuel injection, or mechanical fuel injection. My carb knowledge is limited, and my electronic carb knowledge was nil before buying this Camaro.

So first stupid question... are the vacuum ports labelled on the carb? I still have the vacuum diagram under the hood, I'm just missing most of the parts.

Is this the Vacuum Sensor that should be plugged into port N on the back of the carb? (the vacuum line isn't currently connected)

Is this the barometric pressure sensor? The wiring colors don't match the wiring diagram, but it's close.

Which port do I plug the air cleaner vacuum line into? There is one just above the fuel line on the front of the carb, and one below it. The one below it I have capped off in this photo. There is also a massive vacuum port on the front of the carb, I believe this goes to the purge canister?