History / Originality Got a question about 1982-1992 Camaro or Firebird history? Have a question about original parts, options, RPO codes, when something was available, or how to document your car? Those questions, answers, and much more!

Has GM changed their packaging?

Search this Thread

Old 04-24-2019, 01:53 PM
Supreme Member

Received 1,052 Likes on 748 Posts
Has GM changed their packaging?

I've been buying GM parts since about 1996, and admittedly I haven't gone straight to the dealer and bought a "New" GM part in the last couple decades. So I bought a hood louver for the Iroc off Ebay, supposedly new authentic GM. What showed up doesn't pass the sniff test to me. Seller says they're a GM dealership and the part came from the GM parts system, so before I leave scathing negative feedback, figured I should ask the community for a second opinion.

So what say you? The box is a typical generic brown cardboard box, the only markings on it are the shipping label with my address. No GM logos, no GM label, return address is the ebay seller's name, not a GM dealers name. The bag is nothing special, closed with a couple staples, and the only markings are the label pictured. Has the Government bailout resulted in GM no longer putting their mark of excellence on everything? Are they no longer using the heat shield plastic with "can not be returned if opened" printed on it? No sign even of the yellow black and white barcode pick ticket... Just strikes me as odd.